Runlevels on Unix/Linux

"Runlevel" as a term defines the state of the machine after booting. The following are the runlevels defined for Unix/Linux systems:-

ID     Description
0     Halt
1     Single-user mode
2     Multi-user mode without network services and network interfaces
3     Multi-user mode with networking
4     Not used (Reserved for special purposes)
5     Multi-user mode with networking and GUI
6     Reboot

Abhishek Monday 04 November 2013 - 8:02 pm | | Default
Used tags: , ,

No comments

(optional field)
(optional field)

Comment moderation is enabled on this site. This means that your comment will not be visible until it has been approved by an editor.

Remember personal info?
Small print: All html tags except <b> and <i> will be removed from your comment. You can make links by just typing the url or mail-address.